Consistency is key?

“Consistency is contrary to nature, contrary to life. The only completely consistent people are the dead.”

– Aldous Huxley, Do What You Will: Twelve Essays

Hello, Sunshines!

So, what it’s been like maybe two or three years? Months…I definitely meant months, but to be fair in the world of writing a three-month absence actually does feel a lot like three years.

Now, before I went AWOL I had a pretty decent rhythm going on, posting wise that is.

Enjoy the week

Reflect on Wednesday

Edit

Publish on Thursday 

Pub on the weekend 

*Repeat*

It was fun. I looked forward to those Thursdays, but that giddiness and anticipation only lasted for like a month in Thursdays. So, in all actuality, the thrill of having a set day to upload content onto my blog only lasted for four or five days. Typical. After that sixth or so Thursday rolled in I was right back to that icky feeling I get whenever I decide to organize and pre-plan things in my life. But I kept it up,

“Through consistency comes results.”

Sure, but what results am I looking for in particular? *inserts the biggest Kanye shrug ever* It almost felt like I was forcing myself to make routine posts a.k.a. doing that thing again where I attempted to cater to an audience and in turn short change myself. I knew I had to abandon the mindset, once again might I add, before I abandoned my hobby and I was determined to.

Well…

Fast forward three months, May, I ended up abandoning both my snazzy hobby and that twisted mindset but in the midst of all that I also had an epiphany. I mean, would I really be myself if I didn’t? The answer is no.

Now, At first, when I realized I didn’t enjoy having only one specific day to post, I figured I was being a baby I mean a lot of people have scheduled days to do things so why couldn’t I? Maybe, I thought, I had my leash on too tight, usually, no one has just one day to do something every week so I change it to two but then when will I find the time to write up posts I’m content with? I’m my biggest critic so of course, that wouldn’t work. Moving on.

Then it hit me,

I don’t want to be consistent at all. Consistency drives me away in every aspect of the word. Sure it establishes a lot but it’s way too uniform. Consistency is great when you want to achieve a long-term goal but even then you have to realize that doing the same thing won’t give you different results. I think it’s obvious that consistency hinders creativity, and speaking for myself here I believe there’s something way more effective than consistency,

persistence. 

Persistence is key.

Continuing to do something on your time without constantly beating yourself up about when it should be done, especially in this free-range creative space is “key” and I’m not sure why I never thought about it this way before but – here we are.

Until next time
 signature

 

22 thoughts on “Consistency is key?

  1. josypheen says:

    I agree with you completely!
    I am impressed with people that can keep to a blogging schedule…mine is just related to when I last did something fun and when I have time to write about it all. 😀

    As long as you’re enjoying it, why stifle your words with a schedule?

    Liked by 1 person

  2. JESS @PT CONTENDER says:

    Hey Leah! I’m here from #usbcstorm :)) I know exaaactly what you mean about keeping a consistent posting schedule. I am trying it out now, but it does go against who I am bc I’m so not a schedule person (I say it all the time lol). Anyway, welcome back to writing & we’ll just see how my own adventure goes w/scheduling ha ❤

    Liked by 1 person

    • Leah says:

      Thank you! We seem to be on in the same in no way, shape, or form am I a schedule-based person but I hope that your journey has an amazing outcome! Happy blogging

      xx

      Liked by 1 person

  3. GorgeousAndGeeky says:

    Such a wonderful post! I completely agreee. I’m a newbie blogger but I write when I feel inspired. I work a full time job, have friends/family and maintain my blog as a hobby. If I’m tired one day, I’m going to rest and not force myself to blog cause then it will no longer be something I enjoy but a chore. Great read!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Jo (Fallen Angel) says:

    Couldn’t agree more. I think I’ve tied myself into posting on set days and I feel a bit icky if I think about not bothering to post one week! I might need to break the cycle!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Shallow Reflections says:

    I have consistently posted on the same day once per week since starting my blog. Sometimes I second guess myself and question whether it is the ‘right’ day. Sometimes I wish I could publish more then once a week but I definitely don’t have time. And sometimes I repost an old essay I’ve polished and revised to give myself a week off. Though the polishing and revising is still a lot of work. I have not analyzed the patterns or days of the week when others’ post so in the end I don’t think it matters. If writing loses its joy in needing to follow a set pattern, I think it’s time to blow up the pattern. Good for you that you have discovered what makes you happy and spurs your creativity.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Circle of Daydreams says:

    I tried to post more than once a week, then to stick to a schedule of certain days for certain things, then to post once a week….. oh well, now I post when I have something to share or I’m excited about writing something I think others might find useful. I go through crazy phases of writing up a back log of posts as drafts, and then spend weeks just creating stuff like printables because I love images and graphics. I dribble out the posts I squirreled away so people don’t think I’ve disappeared into the abyss!! I like your idea about persistence being.. ‘Continuing to do something on your time without constantly beating yourself up about when it should be done.’ Here’s to not beating ourselves up over anything anymore!!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Leah says:

      Ha! Drafts are always the easiest to come up with while the section itself is unconsciously, probably the most compelling (in the worst way) which would explain why it’s easy to get lost in wouldn’t it? Ahh, I do believe not beating ourselves up anymore deserves every hoorah in the book! So here’s to it!!

      xx

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

