A Slice of Forgiveness Pie

They say that the hardest person to forgive in any situation is yourself and that after you’ve forgiven yourself almost immediately after, almost, everything starts to fall into place. Maybe not the way that you thought or hoped it would, but the way that it was always meant to be.

Ecclesiastes 3:1-15

Verses I’ve heard many versions of before. Although I never quite understood the meaning behind it entirely until recently. I stumbled across these words and took the time to read for myself to really think about everything. I didn’t really believe in the whole fate thing and “If it’s meant to be then it will be,” statement because the “you have to work for what you want,” mindset of others always counterattacked it, but that didn’t keep me from being subconsciously aware that there was a possibility things happened when they should have both good and otherwise.

Before I made the decision to change my major from Biology to English I figured I was only doing so to salvage what was left of my sanity and possibly graduate sooner than anticipated. It wasn’t until scheduling for the upcoming semester arrived that I realized this wasn’t a mistake nor was it an impulse decision but this was the road I was initially supposed to be on. I’m minoring in biology so while it’s not my main focus anymore it is still a part of my academic life. I still needed science classes and for those of you that know from rumors or experience, scheduling is one of the most stressful and annoying times of the semester, aside from finals week. Anywho long story short I was unable to schedule any science class for the upcoming semester because they were already full. Each and every class that I would have needed to take for the spring semester to come as a biology major was full and I had already gotten my general elective classes out of the way during my freshman year so I would have been stuck between a rock and a half. All that time I spent driving myself insane trying to undo my major changing “mistake” and it was just me that needed a little undoing.

I guess what I’m trying to say is, don’t keep yourself from progressing

For all the stress you’ve put yourself through
For all those times you felt being “too nice” backfired
For all those times you felt you could’ve been a little nicer
For all those times you didn’t because you believed that you couldn’t (whatever the situation)
For all those times you hurt but never thought much of it
For all those times you wished you’d done differently

Whatever it may be…
Forgive yourself, you deserve to be at peace. Plus, you never know what little miracles may stem from the progress of the process.
signature

8 thoughts on “A Slice of Forgiveness Pie

  1. Janice Wald says:

    Hi,
    I agree with what you wrote. People are happier after they forgive themselves.
    I know Ritu. I also know Danny Ray. Congratulations on being Danny Ray’s featured blogger. I was his featured blogger also.
    Maybe you can check out my blog if you need a blogging tip or two. That’s what I write about. For example, I write about free tools and tips that can help bloggers.
    Janice

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

