It Takes REAL Planning to Organize this Chaos

So, it’s been about a month since the semester started and mentally, the road has been rocky. Time always seems like it’s running away from me, I never have enough of it to do anything. The “take your classes one day at a time” theory was failing miserably and driving me insane!

After a very dramatic and emotional crisis occurred, (over the frustration of losing Internet connection which happens often here on campus so I’m not entirely sure why this time was so different), I decided that it was time I organized my school life. Now I attempted this organization method last year because I was told by many college goers that this was a great way to manage your time, but I only got as far as searching planner layouts and decorating. I wasn’t interested in managing time, staying cooped up in a room was my specialty and my method of taking things one day or deadline at a time worked just fine for me. Looking back now, I really don’t know how I made it out of last year alive.

“You don’t always need a plan, sometimes you just need to breathe, let go and see what happens.”

I hate it. Everything about planning feels icky and forced, and I’m 1000% sure those are the reasons I could never get into bullet journaling, planners, or anything for that matter that involved strict day-to-day outlining. I’ve always felt that planning messed up the spontaneousness and natural flow of each day, but at this point, I was desperate and willing to try anything to gain my sanity back. If I went one more day, no, one more second of one more hour trying to study and do assignments for three different classes at once my head was going to explode! I needed to fix myself and fast.
So here we are ladies and gentlemen, I can say that shockingly it’s been an alright end of September. Planning has been partially responsible for easing the overwhelming feelings of distress, with crying coming in strong at 2nd place. I have more time than I think I’ve had since the first day of classes and even though through the first few weeks of planning I freaked myself out about what days I was going to do what, how long I’d do it and so on, the road has been a lot smoother. Now I have more time to focus on my atrocious sleeping patterns and gas prices.

Until next time.

Leave a Reply

